Strasse der Monumente

Berlin Victory Column

On 2 September 1873 the Berlin Victory Column was opened to the public with an imperial inauguration ceremony. It was the first national monument to the German Empire, created two years earlier in 1871. Proposals for a monument had already been developed in 1864 following the defeat of Denmark by Prussian and Austrian troops on behalf of the German Federation. The Danish monarchy had been forced to hand over the territories of Schleswig and Holstein to the Federation.

Only two years later, military action seemed the only solution to resolve the struggle for political supremacy between Prussia and its former ally Austria: on 3 July 1866 Prussia defeated the Habsburg powers in the Battle of Sardowa (known today as Hradec Králové) in Bohemia.

The German Federation was dissolved and Prussia became a major power in Europe at the head of the new North German Federation. France declared war on this new political rival on 19 July 1870. An alliance between the North German Federation and the southern German states of Bavaria, Baden and Wuerttemberg defeated the forces of the Second French Empire on 2 September 1870 at the battle of Sedan. Prussia had become the leading political and military power in Europe.

On 18 January 1871, in the mirrored hall of the Palace of Versailles, the princes of the German States recognised the Prussian king, Wilhelm Ist, as the German Emperor. The Victory Column tells the story of the founding of the Empire from 1864 to 1871 in bronze reliefs and mosaic pictures. The column has a height of sixty meters and offers a unique panoramic view of Berlin old and new.

Address:
Strasse des 17 Juni / Grosser Stern
10557 Berlin
+49 (0) 30 / 3912961
www.monument-tales.de

Opening hours:
April to October
daily 09.30 – 18.30 hrs
November to March
daily 9.30 – 17.30 hrs
(closed 24 December)

Exhibition about the history of this and other national monuments and city landmarks, Guidebook in English and German, Viktoria Café and Beer Garden next to the monument

Marine-Ehrenmal Laboe
Siegessäule
Kaiser-Wilhelm-Denkmal
Hermannsdenkmal
Völkerschlachtdenkmal
Kyffhäuser-Denkmal
Wartburg
Contact
Deutsch
Impressum

Strasse der Monumente

Die Siegessäule

Am 2. September 1873 konnte die Siegessäule bei einem kaiserlichen Festakt der Öffentlichkeit übergeben werden. Sie war das erste Nationaldenkmal des 1871 gegründeten Kaiserreiches. Entwürfe zu einem Denkmal entstanden bereits 1864 nach dem Sieg der Truppen des Deutschen Bundes über Dänemark. Preußisches und österreichisches Militär sicherten im Auftrag des Bundes nun Schleswig und Holstein gegen Gebietsansprüche des Dänischen Königs.

Zwei Jahre später schien der Konflikt zwischen Preußen und Österreich um die politische Vormacht nur noch militärisch lösbar: Am 3. Juli 1866 besiegte Preußen die Habsburger Macht in der Schlacht bei Königgrätz in Böhmen. Der Deutsche Bund löste sich auf und Preußen übernahm die Führung als europäische Kontinentalmacht im neugegründeten Norddeutschen Bund.

Als Frankreich diesem politischen Konkurrenten am
19. Juli 1870 den Krieg erklärte, siegte der Norddeutsche Bund mit den süddeutschen Staaten Bayern, Baden und Württemberg über das kaiserliche Frankreich am 2. September 1870 bei Sedan. Preußen stieg zur europäischen Großmacht auf. Die Fürsten der deutschen Staaten riefen den Preußischen König Wilhelm I. am 18. Januar 1871 im Spiegelsaal des Schlosses Versailles zum Deutschen Kaiser aus.

Die Siegessäule beschreibt in Bronzereliefs und in Mosaikbildern diesen Weg zur Reichsgründung von 1864 bis 1871. In sechzig Meter Höhe hat man einen einzigartigen Panoramablick über das alte und neue Berlin.

Die Siegessäule in Berlin
Straße des 17. Juni / Großer Stern
10557 Berlin
Telefon +49 (0) 30. 391 29 61
www.monument-tales.de

Öffnungszeiten
April bis Oktober
täglich 9.30 – 18.30 Uhr
November bis März
täglich 9.30 – 17.30 Uhr
24. Dezember geschlossen

Ausstellung zur Geschichte des Denkmals und zu weiteren Nationaldenkmälern und Städtewahrzeichen; Broschüre in deutsch und englisch, Café Viktoria mit Biergarten neben dem Denkmal

Marine-Ehrenmal Laboe
Siegessäule
Kaiser-Wilhelm-Denkmal
Hermannsdenkmal
Völkerschlachtdenkmal
Kyffhäuser-Denkmal
Wartburg
Kontakt
English
Impressum